Select language

Skip to content

Human Development &
Capability Association

Agency, Well-Being and Justice

Virtual Mini-conference on Global Perspectives on COVID-19 and Sustainability Transitions

Register at: https://bit.ly/sscpkanrsvp

An Initiative of the Future Earth Knowledge-Action Network on Systems of Sustainable Consumption and Production

May 27, 2020

 10pm Australia | 9pm Japan | 8pm China | 2pm Central Europe/South Africa | 1pm United Kingdom | 9am Rio de Janeiro | 8am North America (East) | 7am North America (Central) | 6am North America (Mountain) | 5am North America (Pacific)

***0:00 indicates the start time of the mini-conference (does not refer to a time zone)***

0:00-0:10 Introduction, Maurie Cohen

0:10-00:40 Opening Plenary | Covid-19 and sustainability transitions: a view from the grassroots, Neal Gorenflo, Founder and Executive Director, Shareable

0:40-1:00 Opportunities for local governments to advance sustainability in a post-COVID-19 world, Thomas Reuter, Amy Burnett, Jenna Lamphere, and Liga Rudzite

1:00-1:20 From “locking-down” to “locking-in”: glocal dialogues and a glimpse into changes to everyday life and social practices, Steven McGreevy and Ashley Colby

1:20-1:40 And who cares for women? The importance of care work in the time of COVID-19, Cláudia Santos, Marula Tsagkari, Felix Kwabena Donkor, Nediana Sarrasanti, Karen Smith, and Chadia Wannous

1:40-2:00 Coffee/Cocktail Break

2:00-2:20 Sustainability transitions in the Global South: introducing the network and its ongoing initiatives in the context of COVID-19 crisis, Katharina Schiller, Bipashyee Ghosh, Mark Purdon, and Adriana Marotti de Mello

2:20-2:40 Circular economy opportunities for sustainability transitions in the post-COVID-19 era, Joseph Sarkis, Paul Dewick, and Sarah Strauss

2:40-3:00 School closures and the COVID-19 pandemic: Is there a transformational potential for Education for Sustainable Development/Education for Sustainable Consumption?, Pascal Frank, Daniel Fischer, and Claire Grauer

3:00-3:30 Final Plenary

Biographies of Speakers Available Here

A Special Feature of the Mini-conference

Participants in the mini-conference are invited to share a visual representation of their hopes and inspirations, lives, or experiences of sustainability transitions in the era of COVID-19. Once you upload your images, please provide some explanatory text that identifies the location of your photograph/video and provide your name. We ask that each participant limit themselves to five submissions. Please click the following link to submit your contribution(s): https://photos.app.goo.gl/V8ucavxXDtS27uyL8.

Mini-conference Organizing Committee

Magnus Bengtsson, Caroline Boules, Maurie Cohen, Ashley Colby, Paul Dewick, Felix Kwabena Donkor, Ria Lambino, Hein Mallee, Steven McGreevy, Cláudia Santos, Joseph Sarkis, Nediana Sarrasanti, Craig Starger, Emmanuella Vital, and Esthi Zipori

Organizing Committee for COVID-19 and Sustainability Transitions Initiative

Magnus Bengtsson, Maurie Cohen, Paul Dewick, Ria Lambino, Hein Mallee, Steven McGreevy, Joseph Sarkis, Patrick Schröder, and Esthi Zipori

Management Team of the Future Earth Knowledge-Action Network on Systems of Sustainable Consumption and Production

Magnus Bengtsson, Maurie Cohen, Charlotte Jensen, Ria Lambino, Sylvia Lorek, Hein Mallee, Steven McGreevy, and Patrick Schröder

dr
scroll to top