Select language

Skip to content

Human Development &
Capability Association

Multi-Disciplinary and People-Centred

Special Synodal Assembly on the Pan-Amazon: New Paths for the Church and for an Integral Ecology

The Pan-Amazon is made up of nine countries: Brazil, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Venezuela, Suriname, Guiana and French Guiana, it is a region that is an important source of oxygen for the whole earth, where more than one third of the world's primary forest reserves are found. It is one of the largest biodiversity reserves on the planet, containing 20% of the not frozen freshwater. The population of this vast territory is about 34 million inhabitants, of which more than three million are indigenous, belonging to more than 390 ethnic groups.Social Justice and the rights of these peoples are a priority for Pope Francis who reiterated: “The central issue is how to reconcile the right to development, both social and cultural, with the protection of the particular characteristics of indigenous peoples and their territories”. (III Forum of the Indigenous Peoples, February 15, 2017)

scroll to top