Webinar: “What counts as disability? Who decides? A socio-cultural examination of disabled students’ experiences at South African universities”

What counts as disability? Who decides? A socio-cultural examination of disabled students’ experiences at South African universities

By Oliver Mutanga

University of the Free State, South Africa

Wednesday February 4th, 2015

2:00 to 3:00pm in London

7:30 to 8:30pm in Delhi

9:00 to 10:00am Eastern Standard Time

 

The Webinar: The webinar will give the results of a qualitative study set out to examine the processes through which disabled students at two South African universities make their educational choices and negotiate structures in higher education. Insights into the lives and experiences of fourteen participants contribute to debates on how disability can be conceptualised. It will be argued that there is a need to reconceptualise disability within an expansive framework instead of the narrow views that are present in South Africa.

 

Speaker’s Bio: Oliver Mutanga is a final year PhD student at the Centre for Research in Higher Education and Human Development (CRHED), University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa. He is working under the supervision of Prof. Melanie Walker. He is currently at the University of Pavia, Italy on a scholarship of the Centre for International Cooperation and Development (CICOPS) working with Prof. Enrica Chiappero Martinetti.