WEBINAR: The Societal and Ethical Impact Canvas: a tool to support Responsible Innovation

HDCA’s Thematic Group ‘Technology, Innovation and Design’ invites you to a joint webinar by Marc Steen, TNO

Date: 25 March 2019, 16:00 CET/Amsterdam (= 15:00 GMT/London; 20:30 IST/Delhi; 11:00 EDT).

Marc Steen will present a tool that can help to promote and support Responsible Innovation in organizations and companies: the ‘Societal and Ethical Impact Canvas’.  The Canvas is a variation on the Business Model Generation Canvas, inspired by the Capability Approach. The Societal and Ethical Impact Canvas It is a template to help structure discussions, for example during a workshop. It is meant to support people who work in an innovation or design project to reflect critically and generate clarity on two issues: 1) the impact which they aim to make in society with their project, both intended, positive impacts, and unintended, negative impacts; and 2) the partners they need in order to realize this impact, and the stakeholders they need to involve.

These two issues often remain implicit and are therefore not always critically examined. The Canvas is inspired by the Capability Approach: it views technologies as means towards human flourishing; and it focuses on involving societal stakeholders during the innovation process. The Canvas is meant as an antidote to technology-push. The tool was developed in the JERRI project (https://www.jerri-project.eu/; funded by the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation program), which aims to support organizations in organizing (and institutionalizing) Responsible Innovation.

Speaker’s bio: Marc Steen works as a senior research scientist at TNO, an organization for applied scientific research and innovation in The Netherlands. He earned MSc, PDEng and PhD degrees in Industrial Design Engineering at Delft University of Technology. He is an expert in Human-Centred Design, Open Innovation, Responsible Innovation, and Applied Ethics in Big data and Algorithms. His mission is to help organizations and companies to use technologies in ways that help to create a just society and to promote people's flourishing.

The webinar will be moderated by Rafael Ziegler.

Participants are asked to register in advance. Please send a brief email to Marc Stehen (marc.steen@tno.nl). Once registered, participants will receive further instructions on how to participate in the webinar.

 

 

scroll to top