Select language

Skip to content

Human Development &
Capability Association

Agency, Well-Being and Justice

Monthly Archives: September 2020

HDCA WEBINAR: “What now for the Capabilities Approach to health, disability and ageing?”

By Sridhar Venkatapuram

King’s College London

Wednesday October 14th, 2020

16:00 to 17:00 in London

20:30 to 21:30 in Delhi

11:00 to 12:00 Eastern Standard Time

The event will take place through Zoom. Please register through Eventbrite in order to receive a link to the meeting.

Organized by HDCA’s Health and Disability Thematic Group 

The Webinar: Has the COVID-19 pandemic reaffirmed or diminished the coherence and usefulness of the capabilities approach (CA) in relation to health, disability and ageing?  In this presentation, Sridhar will discuss the surprising disconnect between the influence of the CA in development thinking and policies, and the policy responses in LMICs to COVID.  After this, he will restate why the CA is useful during health crises as well as normal times.  And Sridhar will conclude by identifying some novel issues that the pandemic raises for the CA, including the possibility of health capability being the foundation of reformed global order. 

Speaker’s Bio: Sridhar Venkatapuram is an Associate Professor in Global Health & Philosophy at King’s College London. Sridhar has been an academic practitioner at the forefront of health ethics and global health for over 25 years. His doctoral dissertation on the moral right to ‘the capability to be healthy’ formed the basis of his first book titled ‘Health Justice: An argument from the capabilities approach’ published in 2011. He is a Fellow and member of the Executive Committee of the Human Development and Capability Association. He recently spent one year in the Global Health Ethics Unit of the World Health Organization in Geneva as the WHO drew on his idea of health as basic capabilities in their definition of healthy ageing. An open access book he co-edited on the COVID-19 pandemic title ‘Vulnerable: The Policy, Law and Ethics of COVID-19’ has recently been published.

This webinar is the first of a new monthly webinar series for 20/21 being organised by the Health and Disability Thematic Group at the Human Development and Capability Association.

Giulia, Margarita, Paul and Toon (Health and Disability Thematic Group co-ordinators)

https://hd-ca.org/thematic_group/health-and-disability

 

 

 

 

dr

HDCA WEBINAR: Children during the Pandemic: A View from the CA

September 22, 2020
13.00-14.30 (UK time), 9.00-10.30 (Buenos Aires), 22.00-23.30 (Sydney)

This webinar aims to shed light on the impact of the current COVID-19 pandemic on children by looking at it through the capabilities approach. It brings together three scholars from different corners of the globe, who will discuss the situation of children in their own regions, and how this may speak to concerns about the effects that the pandemic has had on children's well-being and capabilities.

SPEAKERS

Caroline Hart (University of Sheffield): Children living in a Covid-19 World: Reflections from England

Kate Sollis (Australian National University): COVID-19 and its impacts on children and young people in Australia: An evidence review

Graciela Tonon (Universidad de Palermo): Children`s views on the COVID-19 pandemic: a qualitative study

The event will take place through Zoom. Please register in order to receive the link to the meeting and further information. Link for Eventbrite registration, below.
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/children-during-the-pandemic-a-view-from-the-ca-tickets-119283081909

This webinar is organised by the Thematic Group on Children and Youth of the Human Development and Capabilities Association.

For more information, contact n.brando[a]qub.ac.uk

dr
scroll to top