Select language

Skip to content

Human Development &
Capability Association

Multi-Disciplinary and People-Centred

Loading Events

« All Events

WORKSHOP: Professional Development Workshop: Assessing multiple-enterprise social impacts and stakeholder values: the benefits of a Human capabilities lens for social entrepreneurship

December 6 @ 3:00 pm - 5:30 pm UTC+0

Tue, 6 December 2022, 16:00 – 18:30 CET/ 15.00 – 17.30 GMT/ 10.00 – 12.30 EST (US/CA East coast)/ 07.00 – 09.30 PST (US/CA West coast), Online workshop.

Registration for an online interactive workshop on the Capabilities approach and stakeholders in social entrepreneurship is now open. This workshop modifies Sen's (1999, cpt 3) parable of Annapurna and three unemployed laborers – Dinu, Bishanno and Rogini – and applies a similar model in the context of stakeholders within a social enterprise. Though the workshop is designed to introduce the capabilities approach to those who do not know of it, we welcome you to join in for a collaborative session with social entrepreneurs-practitioners and researchers from different disciplines to collaboratively address diverse (and even conflicting) stakeholder priorities in organizational decision-making. In this iteration, we are privileged to also have a representative of SOPHIA Oxford (a spin-off of OPHI working on Poverty with corporations) join us at the end to briefly share their work.

In this 2.5 hour collaborative workshop, participants are introduced to the Human Capabilities Approach (HCA) as a multidimensional, people-centered framework for social impact negotiation and assessment. As an entrepreneurial tool, HCA provides a fertile ground for coordination among diverse sets of stakeholder groups with varied values and priorities in settings of social entrepreneurship. Workshop participants are given opportunities to use the HCA framework to shift their entrepreneurial awareness beyond isolated impacts towards the broader set of multi-faceted (and, ideally, socially-sustainable) impacts of an enterprise.  The HCA framework is also relevant for board-level corporate governance and strategic management, particularly towards determining social impact objectives and assessing performance. It can also provide insight for impact investors, for civil society monitoring, or for government policy-makers working on multi-stakeholder initiatives.

Further details and registration here:
https://www.eventbrite.fi/e/pdw-assessing-multiple-enterprise-social-impacts-and-stakeholder-values-registration-464234697477

Hosted by the European Council for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (ECSB) and the Leuphana University Lüneburg's Transformational Entrepreneurship team.

Details

Date:
December 6
Time:
3:00 pm - 5:30 pm UTC+0
Event Tags:
scroll to top