HDCA Webinar: Mixed Methods for the Study of Capabilities

Speaker:  Graciela Tonon

11 am Buenos Aires and Porto Alegre, 10 am New York, 3 pm London, 8.30 pm New Delhi

The decision to use a certain research methodology implies a philosophical, theoretical, political, and operational decision. Mixed-methods are a methodological strategy to complement and expand the combination of the quantitative and qualitative methods in which researchers can combine both at different stages of the project. In this sense, it is important to reflect on the use of mixed methods for the study of capabilities.

Speaker’s Bio: Graciela Tonon is  Director of the Master Program in Social Sciences and the Research Center in Social Sciences (CICS-UP)  and associate professor of Social Sciences Research Methodology  at  Universidad de Palermo, Argentina. She is also the Director of UNICOM, Social Institute of Universidad Nacional de Lomas de Zamora, Argentina. She is Secretary of the Human Development and Capability Association, previous being the Information Officer. She is the Guest Editor of the Special Issue "Communities and Capabilities" of the Journal of Human Development and Capabilities. She is also the Editor of the International Handbooks of Quality of Life Series.

Participants must RSVP at  ebenat@palermo.edu            .

Details on how to join the webinar will be shared after you RSVP.

The webinar will be moderated by Denise Benatuil, and it is expected to last an hour